1 239 514 3081 mail@icsamail.com

Test Migration New

ICSA awards honor individuals whose contributions to ICSA and the cultic studies field merit special attention. Awards are not annual, so there may be years when there is no recipient for a particular award. Awards are given out during ICSA’s annual conference.  ICSA gives out three awards (not necessarily every year): Herbert L. Rosedale, Margaret T. Singer, and Lifetime Achievement.  ICSA also honors individuals by asking them to give the Paul R. Martin Memorial Lecture at our conferences.

Herbert L. Rosedale, Esq.

Herbert L. Rosedale Humanitarian Award: “in recognition of leadership in the effort to preserve and protect individual freedom, help victims, or inform society about ethical and legal dimensions of the cult phenomenon.”

Rosedale Award Recipients

2016: Steve K. D. Eichel, PhD
2014:  Rev. Robert and Judy Pardon
2013: Roberto Asquini; Cristina Caparesi
2012: Carolle Tremblay
2011: Daphne Vane
2010: Arthur A. Dole, Ph.D
2009: Francois Bellanger, Ph.D.
2008: National Network of Lawyers Against Spiritual Sales (Japan)
2007: Michael Kropveld
2006: Paul L. Martin, Ph.D.; Rod Dubrow-Marshall, Ph.D.
2005: Josep Jansa, M.D.; Miguel Perlado, Ph.D.
2004: Alan Scheflin, J.D., LL.M.

Margaret T. Singer, PhD

Margaret L. Singer Award: “for advancing the understanding of coercive persuasion, undue influence, and psychological manipulation.”

Singer Award Recipients

2015  Diana Pletts
2014  Livia Bardin, MSW; Ann Stamler, MA, MPhil
2012: Stephen A. Kent
2011: Álvaro Rodríguez-Carballeira, Ph.D
2010: Facilitators who helped develop the Colorado Model of ex-member recovery workshops: Leona Furnari, M.S.W., Carol Giambalvo, Rosanne Henry, M.A., L.P.C., Hal Mansfield, Joyce Martella, M.A., Michael Martella, Ph.D., and Nancy Miquelon, M.A.
2009: Lorna Goldberg, M.S.W., L.C.S.W.
2008: Carol Giambalvo
2007: Janja Lalich, Ph.D.
2006: Arnold Markowitz, C.S.W.
2005: Carmen Almendros, Ph.D.
2004: Philip Elberg, Esq.

Paul R. Martin, PhD

Paul Martin Lecturer: “honors the memory of the late Dr. Paul Martin, founder of Wellspring Retreat and Resource Center, researcher, clinician, and advocate for the victims of psychological manipulation and abuse.”

Martin Lecturers

2016  Robert and Judy Pardon
2015  Gillie Jenkinson, MA
2014  Alan Scheflin, JD, LLM
2013: Lois Kendall, PhD
2012: Ron Burks, PhD
2011: Carmen Almendros, PhD
2010: Rod Dubrow-Marshall, PhD

Lifetime Achievement Award:“honors individuals who have, to an exceptional degree, embodied in their work ICSA’s values of openness, courtesy, and dialogue, and who have made academic and/or other exceptional contributions to the field of cultic studies.” 

2016: David Clark
2016: Joseph Szimhart
2013: Eileen Barker, PhD; Friedrich Griess
2011: Patrick L. Ryan
2010: William Goldberg, M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Phy. A.

Special Recognition Awards
2014:  Steven Hassan, Med, LMHC, NCC

See People Profiles page for biographical sketches of award recipients. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 239 514 3081 mail@icsamail.com